Board of Governors

Board of Governors

“The Garden Club of North Carolina adopted The Elizabethan Gardens as a project in 1951, on August 18, 1960 The Gardens were formally opened.”

MISSION STATEMENT: For every generation, The Elizabethan Gardens is your gateway to our unique nature and history through education and experiences, to learn, enrich, sustain, and enjoy the environment.

The Elizabethan Gardens Board of Governors determines policies and sets long-term strategic goals aimed at advancing the mission of The Elizabethan Gardens. 


Executive Committee

Gail Reynolds, President

Betsy Brown, Vice President

Linda Davenport, Secretary

Jaye Massecar, Treasurer

Linda McLendon, President, GCNC

Brenda Crocker

Kathy Horne

Sarah Ivey

Sarah Johns

Hannah Russ

Ann Rust

Barbara Schultz

Neil Songer

Rich Stone

Lynda Wood

Theresa M. Armendarez, Executive Director

The Elizabethan Gardens Chairman/ Trustees/ Board List 1951-Present


The Elizabethan Gardens Trustees, Board Chair

1958-59: Mrs. H.R. Totten, Chapel Hill

1959-64: Mrs. J.R. Bennett

1964-66: Mrs. Corbett Howard, Goldsboro

1966-67: Mrs. James Tyler, Kinston

1967-70: Mrs. Roscoe McMillan, Red Springs

 The Elizabethan Gardens Board of Governors, Board Chair/ President

1970-74: Mrs. Roscoe McMillan, Red Springs

1974-97: Mrs. W. Marion Odom, Ahoskie (Marie)

1997-99: Dr. Myrtle Swain, Wilson

1999-2003: Mrs. Harry B. Schiffman, Manteo (Lila)

2003-2005: Mrs. Lois Hicks

2005-2008: Mrs. Patsy Zoll, Manteo

2008-2010: Mrs. June Bell, Manteo

2010-2014: Mrs. Penny Rose, Ahoskie

2014-2016: Mrs. Sandra Snapp, Chocowinity

2016-2017: Mrs. Lou Ellen Flowers, Goldsboro

2017- 2023: Mrs. Linda Davenport, Edenton

2023-present: Mrs. Gail Reynolds, Southern Shores

The Elizabethan Gardens Logo

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from the Gardens.

You have Successfully Subscribed!